Margate - Cyber Tracks




Margate is a melodic punk rock band formed in 2003 and based in Los Angeles, California consisting of Alex Helbig (drums, lead vocals), Doug Mitchell (guitar, backing vocals), Steve Weil (bass, backing vocals) and Jeff Dahlin (rhythm guitar). Based on the strength of two self-released, full-length albums (On the Other Side and Songs in the Key of Awesome), their weekly “Live from Room 57″ YouTube video series, and their 2011 EP release Rock ‘n Roll Reserve, the band was the first signing to Aaron Abeyta (aka El Hefe) and his wife Jennifer Abeyta’s record label Cyber Tracks in December 2011. On May 29th 2012, Margate released a self-titled full-length album on Cyber Tracks which was engineered, mixed and produced by El Hefe. The following week, the band headed out on tour to support NOFX in the Netherlands and UK, during which time they also shared the stage with Less Than Jake, Snuff, UK Subs, and Anti-Nowhere League among others.

Since returning to the states, Margate has played with Teenage Bottlerocket, Guttermouth, The Ataris, Death By Stereo, GFP, Union 13, Pour Habit, Nothington, The Dopamines, Go Betty Go and more, and has received regular radio play as a KROQ Locals Only band. Margate’s follow up LP on Cyber Tracks entitled Beards In Paradise will be released on June 30th, 2015 on limited edition yellow vinyl and digital download, with a West Coast tour to follow.

Alex Helbig – Lead Vocals / Drums
Doug Mitchell – Guitar / Backup Vocals
Steve Weil – Bass / Backup Vocals
Jeff Dahlin – Rhythm Guitar


Cyber Tracks Releases


  1. Margate - The Unsilent Majority

    Margate – The Unsilent Majority

  2. Margate - Beards in Paradise Teaser

    Margate – Beards in Paradise Teaser

  3. Cyber Tracks - Margate

    NEWS: Cyber Tracks, El Hefe and Margate